All You Need To Know About Biju Housing Scheme

All You Need To Know About Biju Housing Scheme

All You Need To Know About Biju Housing Scheme

To provide adequate and hygienic living conditions to the people of the state, the Odisha government launched the Biju Pucca Ghar Yojana in 2014. The intent was to provide all the rural kutcha home dwellers with a pucca home. These units, that have an expected life of 30 years, qualify as a pucca house.  

Homes under this scheme are preferably allotted in the name of the woman of the house without any contractor involved in the construction. A unit under this scheme is constructed by the beneficiary and fund is made available to them in their bank account to ensure transparency. The minimum carpet area of the unit under this scheme is 25 square metre, excluding the toilet area.


There are two components to this scheme Biju Pucca Ghar Yojana-Normal (BPGY-N) and Biju Pucca Ghar Yojana-Special (BPGY-S).

Those who have been victims of natural or manmade mishaps such as earthquakes, flood, communal violence, etc., can avail of benefits under this scheme in the form of rehabilitation or relocation. The same applies to those who are affected by occupation-related diseases such as silicosis or those who have suffered due to river/sea inundation. However, most victims are eligible for a home under BPGY-S even if they have been previously allotted a unit under the BPGY-N scheme, the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Grameen), the Indira Awas Yojana (IAY) or any other equivalent scheme. Even those who were rejected under the PMAY-G scheme stand a chance to own a pucca unit on compassionate ground. The District Level Selection Committee also gets to select and verify which households deserve a pucca house if still living in a kutcha unit.

Beneficiaries who are not victims that qualify for the BPGY-S scheme are entitled to a unit on the basis of their eligibility for the BPGY-N.

There is a physical target set for construction of such units across the state which is determined by the authorities concerned. Similarly, selection of beneficiaries under the BPGY-S would be done by the District Level Committee that includes District Collector, MPs and MLAs from the district or president of the Zila Parishad. The list is prepared and finally communicated to the authorities concerned who then put up the final list at the Gram Panchayats and block headquarters.


The cost of a unit in a district that is enrolled under the government’s Integrated Action Plan (IAP) is Rs 1.30 lakh while a unit in a non-IAP district will cost Rs 1.20 lakh. This price could be revised from time to time.

 Funds released

The installments are released on the basis of the progress of the construction. For example, on the issuance of the work order, Rs 20,000 is released both for IAP and non-IAP districts. On completion of the plinth, IAP district beneficiaries get Rs 35,000 while non-IAP districts get Rs 30,000. When the unit is completed up to the roof, another Rs 45,000 is released in IAP districts while Rs 40,000 in non-IAP districts. On completion and when the beneficiary starts living in the unit, Rs 30,000 is released for both IAP and non-IAP districts.


It is important to upload the geo-tagged photograph of the beneficiary with their kuchha house on to the Awaas application developed by the Central or the state government. Other relevant documents also need to be uploaded on this application, including Aadhar and contact details. Note that from the second to the fourth installment are rolled out only after mandatory verifications and inspection of the stage of construction. Another precondition is that the fourth installment is released only after the BPGY logo is engraved in the front wall of the house, mentioning the name of the beneficiary, year when the unit was sanctioned and the cost of the particular unit.

Things to remember

    • The Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water Department of the state have the responsibility to clear any doubts that beneficiaries may have.
    • The unit must be completed within 12 months from the time when the first installment is credited.

  • Beneficiaries constructing bigger homes should first complete the core part of the house where the carpet area is not less than 25 sq mt.

  • Those beneficiaries who are unable to supervise the construction of the unit owing to health or age can seek assistance and the unit can be undertaken by reputed agencies after the Collector’s permission.

  • The material for construction can be procured from the supplier as identified by the district administration or even from other sources.

  • The construction of units is only permitted on individual plots or on the plot of a family member which is permitted only after the beneficiary obtains a no-objection certificate (NOC).

How To Apply

Visit the official website rhodisha(dot)gov(dot)in for the application form. Fill the relevant information required and submit it. For more information, you could contact on the toll-free number 1800-345-6768. You could also use this number to lodge complaints. As mentioned above, the Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water Department of the state is responsible to address beneficiary queries. 

Also Read: How To Apply Online For Subsidy Under PMAY

Last Updated: Fri Jun 28 2019

Similar articles

@@Wed May 13 2020 19:59:51