All About Mumbai Metro Line 10, 11 And 12

All About Mumbai Metro Line 10, 11 And 12

All About Mumbai Metro Line 10, 11 And 12

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 18 laid the foundation stones for two of Mumbai Metro corridors — Line 5 (Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan route) and Line 9 (Dahisar-Mira Bhayander route) of the Mumbai Metro, paving the way for smooth connectivity for the metropolis. However, it must be noted here that plans are underway to build three more lines to provide India's financial capital better connectivity. As part of this plan, the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) has proposed three new corridors — Line 10, Line 11 and Line 12. The detailed project reports (DPR) for the three projects were approved by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis last month and will be recommended to the state government for approval. The proposed infrastructure is expected to bolster development in several areas across the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR). 

Line 10: Spanning a total length of 9 km, the elevated corridor will run between Gaimukh and Shivaji Chowk in Mira Road. The DPR for the project was prepared by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) in February last year. The route will be built parallel to the Thane-Bhayandar Highway, and will intersect the Line 9 at Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj. A cost of Rs 3,600 crore has been estimated for the project.

 Line 11: Line 11 of Mumbai Metro will have a length of 11.4 km, linking Wadala to the CST (Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus). Providing connectivity to south Mumbai areas, the corridor is an extension of Line 4, from Wadala to Kasarvadavali in Thane. The cost for this project is pegged at Rs 8,739 crore. There will be eight underground stations, the second underground route for the city after Colaba-Bandra-SEEPZ corridor or Line 3 while two stations will be built on elevated track.  

 Line 12: Line 12 will extend over an elevated stretch of 20.75 km, comprising of 17 stations starting from Kalyan and terminating at Taloja via Dombivali. It will be an extension of Line 5, also known as the Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan corridor.

Last Updated: Thu Dec 20 2018

Similar articles

@@Fri Jul 05 2019 13:15:19