11 Features Of The Agra-Lucknow Expressway

11 Features Of The Agra-Lucknow Expressway

11 Features Of The Agra-Lucknow Expressway
(Twitter/CM Office, GoUP)

Six fighter jets of the Indian Air Force were the star attraction at the impressive opening of India's longest expressway in Uttar Pradesh. Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav inaugurated the 302-km long six-lane greenfield Agra-Lucknow Expressway. The new corridor is expected to reduce travel time between Delhi and the state capital from nine hours to around five. The superhighway, which is one of the major infrastructure projects in the country, is unique on several counts.

Also Read: How Agra-Lucknow Expressway Will Impact Real Estate Market

Here are the key features of the new corridor that is expected to give a leg-up to connectivity in the region:

  • Built in a record time of 23 months by the Uttar Pradesh Expressways Industrial Development Authority, the expressway is constructed at an estimated cost of is Rs 15,000 crore.
  • With a design speed of up to 120 km per hour, the expressway will have automatic traffic management system aimed at curtailing road mishaps, especially in foggy weather.
  • The high-speed corridor has four rail over bridges, 13 major bridges, 57 minor bridges, 74 vehicular underpasses, 148 pedestrian underpasses and nine flyovers.
  • The six-lane expressway, which is expandable to eight lanes, has an eight-lane bridge across the river Ganga, apart from a couple of bridges and underpasses. The bridge on the Ganga will connect the cities of Kanpur and Unnao.
  • A two-km stretch on the highway has been dedicated to landing and take-off of jets in “war-like situations”.
  • The expressway also boasts development centres, agricultural mandis, schools, rest houses, petrol pumps, service centres and public amenities.
  • Running across 10 districts, 236 villages and 3,500 hectares of land, the expressway connects Agra and Lucknow via Shikohabad, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etawah, Auraiya, Kannauj, Kanpur Nagar, Unnao and Hardoi.
  • The expressway passes through four national highways, two state highways, and five rivers (the Ganga, the Yamuna, the Isan, the Sai and the Kalyani). The expressway starts at Etmadpur Madra village near Agra and terminates at Sarosa Bharosa village near the Mohan Road, Lucknow.
  • The Agra-Lucknow Expressway will connect to the famous Yamuna Expressway via an Agra Ring Road. This will give good connectivity to the Delhi-National Capital Region.
  • The expressway is expected to ensure an all-round development by way of seamless travel, reduced the carbon footprint of vehicles and helping farmers to expand the reach of their products to larger cities.
  • A green belt is also being developed along the expressway by planting trees on either sides and plants in the median.

Also Read

11 Reasons Why Lucknow Has Been Grabbing Eyeball

Last Updated: Tue May 23 2017

Similar articles

@@Wed May 13 2020 19:59:51