SDMC Tax Amnesty Scheme Extended To All Colonies

SDMC Tax Amnesty Scheme Extended To All Colonies

SDMC Tax Amnesty Scheme Extended To All Colonies

In a bid to provide relief to property owners and widen its revenue net, the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) has extended the tax amnesty scheme to the residents of all types of colonies. Earlier, the scheme was applicable to property owners of unauthorised colonies only, However, this time the resolution passed by the Standing Committee will benefit homeowners across 1,398 colonies in eight categories (A-H) under the SDMC jurisdiction, who have defaulted on their taxes since March 2004. The last date to clear the dues would be March 31, 2019.

Under the scheme proposed by the south Delhi corporation, the property owners will be entitled to a 100-per cent waiver of interest and penalty, on clearing the previous dues by March 31. The scheme is now extended to all types of properties, including those in urban and rural villages, and unauthorised colonies. All those residential properties in unauthorised colonies where the matter is pending before the Municipal Tax Tribunal or other courts would also be entitled to the benefit under the scheme.

Earlier on January 3, the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC), too, had launched an amnesty scheme for property tax defaulters in order to raise revenue. The authority had decided to extend the benefit on all areas under its jurisdiction, including authorised colonies, industrial colonies, residential colonies, commercial areas. The last date to avail of this waiver is also March 31. This scheme has been launched because a lot of homeowners whose properties are in ‘unauthorised’ and ‘unauthorised regularised’ colonies are still out of the tax net.

On the other hand, the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) proposed an amnesty scheme in 2017 that involved payment of penalties for the extra construction made in buildings till December 2016, the relief proposed only applied to buildings spread over a plot ranging between 50 sq mt and 250 sq mt. The amnesty scheme excluded buildings with unauthorised constructions, encroachment on government land or those that violate structural safety norms.

Last Updated: Wed Jan 09 2019

Similar articles

@@Mon Jan 14 2019 15:05:42