Things To Know About BBMP, BMRDA And BDA

Things To Know About BBMP, BMRDA And BDA

Things To Know About BBMP, BMRDA And BDA

Besides the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), the Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (BMRDA) and the Bangalore Development Authority are the parastatal bodies who have vital functions to play in urban planning and development in Bangalore.

As an investor, or developer or simply a buyer eyeing a property in Bangalore, it is essential to get a clarity on the various roles and responsibilities of these statutory authorities to ensure hassle-free dealings in property matters.

MakaaniQ explains the roles of BBMP, BMRDA and BDA.

Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike

The BBMP is the fourth largest municipal corporation in India after the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation and the Greater Chennai Corporation. It is run by a city council that comprises corporators (or elected representatives) with one corporator representing each ward of the city. Divided into eight zones, this civic body is responsible for:

  • Meeting the civic and infrastructural requirements of the Greater Bangalore metropolitan area. This includes sanitation, solid waste management, provision and upkeep of public amenities, road construction, etc.
  • Providing specific guidelines regarding construction and maintenance of drainage, road, and amenities while developing land.
  • Focusing on upliftment of the weaker sections of the society through welfare programmes and housing scheme.
  • Working closely with other civic bodies - BDA, Lake Development Authority (LDA) and Agenda for Bangalore Infrastructure Development Task Force (ABIDe), for various infrastructural projects.
  • Zoning, regulation of land use and construction of buildings.
  • Maintaining building layouts as per BDA-approved plans.

With respect to property matters, the BBMP undertakes the responsibilities of:

  • Collection of property taxes through the revenue department, which is the major source of income for this Urban Local Body. BBMP also launched an online portal 'Palike Sampanmoola’ for the same.
  • Providing ‘Khata’ or documentation.

Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority

Formed under the BMRDA Act 1985 by the Government of Karnataka, the BMRDA is an autonomous body which is responsible for:

  • Planning, coordinating and supervising the development of areas in Bangalore Urban district, Bangalore Rural district and Ramanagara District which together constitute the Bangalore Metropolitan Region (BMR).
  • Carrying out survey of the BMR and preparing reports.
  • Preparing a structure plan for the development of BMR.
  • Effectuating changes in the Development Policies of the Bangalore metropolitan region, with the support of BDA.

The Board of members of BMRDA include the Chief Minister of Karnataka - who is also the BMRDA Chairman, senior officials and heads of different development agencies and departments.

Bangalore Development Authority

The BDA is a principal planning authority for Bangalore and falls under the jurisdiction of the Government of Karnataka. Formed on Jan 6th, 1976 under the BDA Act, 1976, BDA is the largest land developer whose permission is mandatory for any other agency attempting to develop land in the Bangalore Metropolitan Region. The state Town Planning Department assists BDA by preparing the Master Plan for Bengaluru Metropolitan Area, layout plans and approving development plans for layouts and group housing schemes.

  • Planning and development of infrastructure.
  • Providing sites for development related to residential, commercial and industrial purposes.
  • Zoning, planning and regulation of land in Bangalore.
  • Taking care of housing requirements of economically weaker sections.
  • Overseeing urban development functions in the city keeping in view the city’s infrastructural requirements.
  • Approving the building plans in areas governed by BDA, and development plans for layouts and group housing.
  • Monitoring and managing property records; and protecting properties of BDA and Green Belt area from encroachment and unauthorised constructions, through the Special Task Force or Vigilance Department.
  • Allotting shops or office spaces in BDA Complexes through the Estate Section; and collecting license fee.
  • Acquiring lands required for executing various developmental schemes executed by the Engineering Department, through the Land Acquisition Department.

Some facts buyers, builders and investors should know

  • When building projects on a site in urban Bangalore, developers should seek a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from BDA. On the other hand, if developers build on a piece of property in rural Bangalore, they should seek a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from BMRDA.
  • The NOC furnished by BDA is of two types. First certifying that the agency or developer had not tried to acquire that plot of land. Second, which certifies that the BDA has approved the residential layout plan of the developer. It is important to acquire both the NOCs before going ahead with any project.
  • Regarding 'change of land use', from an agricultural land to a residential plot, the owner must approach the Deputy Commissioner who will give a stamp of approval. However, prior to this, the layout plan should be approved either by the BDA or the BMRDA, depending on the zone where the property lies.
  • Gram panchayats are authorised to approve layouts/residential properties that fall within the panchayat limits. However, purchasing land parcels - which are approved by Gram Panchayat but not by the BDA - may not be profitable for buyers or developers since financing them from external sources is difficult.


Last Updated: Tue Jul 24 2018

Similar articles

@@Fri Jul 05 2019 13:15:19