Delhi To Have London-Like Metro-Rail Interlinked Corridor

Delhi To Have London-Like Metro-Rail Interlinked Corridor

Delhi To Have London-Like Metro-Rail Interlinked Corridor

Soon, daily commuters of the Delhi Metro travelling to the National Capital Region (NCR) would be able to enjoy an easier commute. The much-awaited Rapid Rail Transit System between Delhi and Alwar has received an approval from the National Capital Region Transport Corporation. The other two networks — from Delhi to Meerut and from Delhi to Panipat — are yet to get approval. Once completed, the networks would be linked to seven Delhi Metro stations, offering a multi-modal integrated transit system. 

At present, such networks are operational in cities such as London, Paris, Hong Kong, Seoul, etc. 

Delhi-Alwar: As the NCRTC has approved the detailed project report for the route, the connectivity to existing industrial hubs will become smoother as the project gets operational. This corridor would pass through Manesar, Bawal and Neemrana. The route when operational would also help commuters to travel to Gurgaon at a speed faster than that of the Metro. It would be a 180-km route with 19 stations. Of the total length, 142 km will be elevated while 38 km will be underground. The corridor will be constructed in three phases. In the first stage- Delhi-Gurgaon-SNB will be built, in second stage, it will be extended to Sotanala and in the third stage, it will be extended to Alwar. 

Route: Kashmere Gate ISBT- New Delhi- Sarai Kale Khan- INA- Dhaula Kuan, Mahipalpur, Cyber City, IFFCO Chowk, Kherki Dhaula, Manesar, Panchgaon, Dharuhera, BTK, MBIR, Rewari, Bawal- SNB- Sotanala- Alwar


It would be a 111-km route with 12 stations. Most of the stretch will be elevated and only two km will be built underground. This line would run in the north-west direction from Delhi. The total time taken on this stretch would be 74 minutes.

Route: Kashmere Gate-Mukarba Chowk-Narela-Kundli Border- KMP Expressway-Rajeev Gandhi Education City-Murthal-Gannaur Depot-Gannaur-Samalkha-Panipat City-IOCL Panipat


It would be a 90-km route that would connect a number of townships along the corridor. There would be 16 stations on the route with a majority of it being elevated.

Route: Sarai Kale Khan-New Ashok Nagar-Anand Vihar-Sahibabad-Ghaziabad-Guldhar-Duhai-Murad Nagar-Modi Nagar South-Modi Nagar North-Meerut South-Partapur-Rithani-Shatabdi Nagar- Bramhapuri- Meerut Central- Bhaisali- Begumpul-MES Colony-Daurli-Meerut North-Modipuram

The Phase-II corridors include:






Linking with the Delhi Metro

The NCRTC is now planning to connect the Phase-1 high-speed train network with the existing Delhi Metro stations. These include Kashmere Gate, Jor Bagh, Indraprastha, New Ashok Nagar, Anand Vihar, Munirka, Sarai Kale Khan, Aerocity and Burari Extension. This would connect all the seven lines of the Delhi Metro – Red, Yellow, Blue, Violet, Magenta, Pink and the upcoming Phase-IV routes. The project will be undertaken by the NCRTC and the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation together.

The timeline and the cost

The construction of the Delhi-Meerut corridor will begin in the second half of 2018 and would be completed by 2024. The infrastructure will make commuting between the NCR and Delhi comfortable and swift. The total travel time will come down significantly once the project gets operational, for which no deadline has been fixed yet. While the total project cost has been pegged at Rs 1 lakh crore, the total estimated daily ridership is 20 lakh, once all the three corridors get operational.

Similar articles

@@Fri Dec 14 2018 16:34:27