Work Fast To Build Metro Network In NCR Towns, Haryana CM Tells Authorities

Work Fast To Build Metro Network In NCR Towns, Haryana CM Tells Authorities

Work Fast To Build Metro Network In NCR Towns, Haryana CM Tells Authorities

Haryana Chief Minister (CM) Manohar Lal Khattar on May 27 directed officials to work actively for extension of the Metro network in areas falling within the national capital region (NCR), which includes Gurugram, Faridabad, Sonipat, Jhajjar and Rohtak. Khattar said the Metro rail extension would ensure ease of traffic and better public transport services to the people of the state.

The CM directed the officers to explore possibilities to work on Metro rail project in Chandigarh, Panchkula and Mohali.

Presiding over a review meeting of the Delhi Metro Rail (DMRC) projects in Haryana, the CM said control of all Metro rail projects in Haryana should be under the Haryana Metro Rail Transport Corporation.

The Metro rail projects which were reviewed in the meeting included the 4.86-km corridor from Narela to Kundli (to be extended till Rajiv Gandhi Education City), the 30.38-km corridor between Gurugram and Faridabad, the 17.10-km corridor from City Park in Bahadurgarh to Sampla, the 23.10-km corridor between Badsa (AIIMS and National Cancer Institute) and Dwarka.

Authorities plan to extend the 40-km Metro network in the state to 75- 80 km in future.

Rapid Metro network to be extended

Earlier at a meeting of the Gurugram Metropolitan Development Authority (GMDA), a detailed project report for Metro connectivity from HUDA City Centre to Cyber City/Rapid Metro was approved. The total length of the Metro rail line would be 31.11 km, and it would have 25 stations and six interchange points.

This Metro line would be constructed at an estimated cost of Rs 5,126 crore, and is likely to be made operational by 2023.

The stations which have been proposed on this route are HUDA City Centre, Sector 45, Cyber Park, Sector 46, Sector 47, Sector 48, Technology Park, Udyog Vihar Phase 6, Sector 10, Sector 37, Basai, Sector 9, Sector 7, Sector 4, Sector 5, Ashok Vihar, Sector 3, Krishna Chowk, Palam Vihar Extension, Palam Vihar, Sector 23 A, Sector 22, Udyog Vihar Phase IV and V and Cyber City.

Also Read: All About Delhi Metro Phase IV

With inputs from Housing News

Last Updated: Wed May 29 2019

Similar articles

@@Tue Feb 15 2022 16:49:29